| About the Foundation   |   Symposium   |   Festivals   |   Press Release   |   Newsletters   |   Membership   |  

  SETP Press Release

Society of Experimental Test Pilots (SETP) Centennial of Powered Flight Symposium - September 25-27, 2003

The Society of Experimental Test Pilots is hosting a once in a lifetime opportunity to meet and listen to the men who have made aviation history, from the Wright Brothers to the breaking of the sound barrier and the exploration of space. Sanctioned by the National Centennial of Flight Commission, this historical event promises to host one of the largest contingents of aviation notables in history.

Open to the public, a riveting series of symposiums will be moderated by David Hartman and aviation historian Dr. Richard Hallion and will feature both technical presentations and oral history sessions spanning the past 100 years of flight. Meet such aviation luminaries as Chuck Yeager, Scott Crossfield, Joe Engle, Pete Knight and 'Fitz' Fulton, plus NASA Astronauts Scott Carpenter, Wally Schirra, Buzz Aldrin, Gene Cernan, Mike Collins, Jim Lovell and others from the Mercury, Gemini, Apollo, and Space Shuttle programs.

During a luncheon on Friday, 26 September, Dr. Bertrand Piccard will give his dramatic and inspiring account of the record-breaking, first-ever around-the-world balloon flight in the Breitling Orbiter 3 that he and Brian Jones made in March 1999. Later that afternoon Margaret "Eiluned"Morgan, niece of Charles Lindbergh, will make a presentation on the life of Charles A. and his wife Anne Morrow Lindbergh during a special tea.

The Symposium's highlight will be an extraordinary black-tie evening on Saturday, September 27 commemorating 100 years of human aspiration in flight. Presented that evening will be a never before seen documentary on aviation achievements of the past 100 years. In attendance will be legendary X-15 pilots Bill Dana, Scott Crossfield, Joe Engle, Bob White and Senator Pete Knight; Mercury Astronaut Scott Carpenter; the "Men of Mach One" Chuck Yeager, Bob Cardenas and Bob Hoover; Apollo Astronauts Buzz Aldrin, Mike Collins, Jim Lovell, Gene Cernan and Wally Schirra--the only Astronaut to fly on Mercury, Gemini and Apollo missions. Also on hand will be Space Shuttle Astronauts, Joe Engle, Bob Crippen, Gordon Fullerton, Frederick Hauck and many others.

Seating is limited, so visit the SETP web site at www.setp.org, symposium link http://www.setp.org/2003SymposiumandBanquet.htm for full details and registration information.

Contact Paula Smith, Executive Director at 661-942-9574 or setp@setp.org


2075 West First Street | Suite 300 | Fort Myers, FL 33901
Tel: 239-334-2154, ext. 125 | Fax: 239-334-7009 |
Site Management provided by Breakthrough Systems | Site Development provided by NURV Technologies